Welcome!

Hello everyone…My name is Whitney and I have been eating gluten free for a little over 5 years.  Being a college student, I know how expensive gluten-free food can be, and you never know how it will taste…

With this blog, I want to share with you some of my favorite gluten-free recipes, restaurants, bakeries, and tips on how to make “gluten-free living” a little simpler (and tastier). BUT, before I get into my first delicious post, I want to explain why I have to eat gluten-free and why this topic is so important to me.

When I was 13, my best friend stayed at my house for the weekend.  Unfortunately, we both ended up very sick, but with what we thought were just colds.  After a visit to my pediatrician and some prescriptions, I thought I was on my way to finally feeling better.  However, after the typical cold symptoms went away, I was left with a headache.  Not the normal kind of headache where you take tylenol and a nap, and wake up feeling fine.  This headache did not go away…ever.

For the next 4 years, I went to every type of doctor you can imagine, had multiple MRI’s, cat-scans, a spinal tap, was on dozens of medications, and I even stayed in the hospital for 2 weeks to be put on an IV at all times, to try to find a medication that worked.  However, when this was happening I was still very young and my parents didn’t like the idea of being on such strong medications.

We were referred to a holistic doctor, who took a few tests for the most common allergens and found out I was allergic to at least 17 things…with gluten being the highest on the list.

It was a rough start trying to eat gluten-free because gluten is hidden in so many products…and even though I am not an expert, I have learned a lot and can’t wait to share some of my favorite gluten-free finds with you all.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

