Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

Okay before I start this post…I have to say that this is by far my favorite recipe and gluten-free food that I have made to date.  It is something so simple, yet SO delicious.

Every Thanksgiving, my parents, sisters, and our boyfriends come over and we make breakfast while we are cooking the turkey and other side dishes for our family dinner.  Most times we will just make a casserole or eggs and bacon, but this year my dad and I decided to try a new recipe out.  My entire family LOVES sweets so when I found a recipe for cinnamon roll pancakes with a cream cheese frosting, I knew I had to try them out.

The original recipe I found was not made for gluten-free, so I had to modify it a little.  Instead of using homemade pancakes, we used gluten-free Bisquick pancake mix.  This cut down on the time to make it, because making everything else is a little more time consuming.

For the filling and glaze, I used a recipe I found online:

http://life-in-the-lofthouse.com/cinnamon-roll-pancakes/

First, mix the ground cinnamon, brown sugar, and melted butter together in a plastic bag and set aside. Then for the glaze, heat up a pan on the stove.  Melt the butter and cream cheese together, then slowly add in the powdered sugar and vanilla.  Last, pour the pancakes onto a hot skillet, and squeeze a spiral of the cinnamon filling onto the top of the pancake.  Flip the pancakes carefully so you can still see the spiral when you serve them.

When we made them, we let everyone put the glaze on themselves because some people liked more than others.  Everyone LOVED these and they were so impressed with the final product.

IMG_0483

CINNAMON FILLING
  1. 1/2 cup butter, melted
  2. 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  3. 1 Tablespoon ground cinnamon
CREAM CHEESE GLAZE
  1. 4 Tablespoons butter
  2. 2 ounces cream cheese
  3. 1 1/4 cups powdered sugar
  4. 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Leave a Reply

